Florida comprises more than 7,700 lakes, 10,550 miles of rivers and over 2,200 miles of tidal shoreline. That’s a lot of places to find fish in, and it comes as no surpise that over 2 million people try their luck catching fish in the Sunshine State every year.
But before you start dropping your lures in the water you’re going to need to make sure you’ve got a Florida fishing license in place first.
This guide will walk you through how to get your license, no matter being a resident, non-resident or a senior.
Do you need a Florida Fishing License?
The short answer to this question is most probably.
The bit longer answer is that any resident aged between 16 and 65 and all non-residents over the age of 16 requires a fishing license in Florida.
Make sure that you got your license(s) in order before baiting your hook. If you for any reason should be caught fishing without a license while being eligible for one you will have to pay the cost of the license and an additional fee. The additional fee (or fine) starts at $50, so it gets pricey rather quick if you try and fish without a proper license.
Since fishing is so big in Florida, they check licenses all over the place.
There are some exceptions to the licensing need:
License-Free Fishing Days
In addition to all the exceptions above, there are also license-free fishing days that provides an excellent opportunity to try out fishing without purchasing a license.
License-free freshwater days
- First consecutive Saturday and Sunday in April
- Second consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June
License-free saltwater days
- First consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June
- First Saturday in September
- Saturday following Thanksgiving
All other rules, such at limits on seasons, bag and size apply.